Levels of Government

Local Government – the City of Greater Geelong (CoGG)

The PCA, on behalf of its members, regularly communicates and negotiates with our local council, The City of Greater Geelong (CoGG). The City of Greater Geelong is divided into four electoral wards. Portarlington is part of the Bellarine Ward and is represented by Councillors Trent Sullivan (Mayor), Jim Mason and Elise Wilkinson.

Have Your Say

Get an alert from CoGG to have your say on relevant community issues or visit the Have Your Say page on the CoGG website to receive up-to-date information on news and community events.

Planning Applications and Permits

Planning applications are planning permits which have been submitted but are not yet approved. Comments or objections can be submitted by the due date advertised. Visit the CoGG website for advertised planning to see the complete list.

The PCA has established sub-committees to address issues of concern and interest. The Planning Committee is one of these.

Contact CoGG

Phone: 03 5272 5272 (8am – 5pm, Monday to Friday)

Email: contactus@geelongcity.vic.gov.au

Postal address:
PO Box 104, Geelong, Vic 3220

State Government

State member for the Bellarine in the Victorian Legislative Assembly is Ms Alison Marchant. She is a member of the Labor Party and was elected in the 2022 state election, after replacing retiring MLA Lisa Neville.

Foreshore & Beaches

The foreshore and beaches at Portarlington are Crown Land and fall under the care, control, planning and management of Bellarine Bayside Coastal Management.

Bellarine Bayside was appointed by the Victorian Government and manages the 17km of foreshore from Point Richards in Portarlington to the southern edge of St Leonards township.  Bellarine Bayside is a public entity and committee members are appointed for a term of three years.

Bellarine Bayside has many staff comprised of coastal planners, conservation officers, holiday park caretakers, grounds and administration staff who preserve and protect the natural coastal environment while ensuring the local community and visitors have access to quality parks, reserves and facilities.

For all matters relevant to the foreshore and beaches contact Bellarine Bayside at 2 Sproat Street, Portarlington Vic 3223

Phone: (03) 5254 4000
Free Call: 1800 222 778

Reception Hours: 9am to 5:30pm every day

Admin Office Hours: 9am to 5pm Monday to Friday

For 24 hour service and to notify park management or security staff phone 5254 4011


Federal Government

Federal member for Corangamite is Ms Libby Coker. She is a member of the Australian Labor Party and has been a member of the House of Representatives since the 2019 federal election, representing the Victorian seat of Corangamite. She previously served as the mayor of the Surf Coast Shire.